“You have the right to remain silent…anything that you say…as I hold you against me. If your heart is tired for the rest of your life, lay your love on me.”

I really like that phrase in the song. I feel that way every time I am in the arms of my husband. I just hope I give him the same or more. I strive to make myself a better wife everyday. Some people consider it a job and feel it is just too hard. Well if it is a job then I picked the right career. I love and cherish my marriage each and every day!

What are your rights?

– You have a right to be unselfish and to give all of you to the other person without a thought of anything in return. There is no 50/50. There is no 80/20….It is just….do whatever needs to be done…period. If the other person is non-responsive, find out what you can do to help them. It could be a struggle with something that needs your attention. Never point fingers at each other and refrain from using the word “you” in arguments.

– You have the right to communicate and ask your spouse how their day was instead of jumping in to let them know all the things falling apart in the home. It waited all day….It can wait a little longer. Positive communication is the key here. Yes there will be arguments, yes there will be some things that cannot be helped, but put all of your focus on how it is being presented so the other person does not get hurt over and over again.

– You have the right to gently touch them, show you care and say “I love you” to show your compassion for them. Touch is so simple, yet means so much. Hold their hand in public, pull out their chair at dinner, open the door for them. These are small gestures that say you care. Send a text that says “I love you”.

– You have a right to be completely devoted to the other person, ignoring the world around you and focusing on the absolute in front of you. No the grass is NOT greener on the other side. Remember your first right….Unselfishness.

– You have the right to ignore that stuff that causes the majority of problems and to realize money does not bring happiness, but in fact, your spouse does. Money comes and goes. We live on the bare minimum. Our entertainment is each other. We laugh, we play and we have a great friendship. Things like TV, outside friends, gatherings and work take away from the quality time. Use the time you have together wisely. Enjoy it and remember why you married them.

– You have a right to point out the fact that your spouse is “HOT” and they look sexy. Question: Do you want someone else to do it for you?….Didn’t think so. We all enjoy compliments…especially from someone we love.

– You have the right to NEVER and I mean NEVER use the word D I V O R C E.

None of us are perfect. We all make mistakes and have to live with them. I’ve been married before and circumstances beyond my control ended it. We shouldn’t have to put up with abuse and death cannot be undone. Remarrying should be looked at as a second chance. Take what was good and bring it forward, while enriching the new marriage. When two people are truly in love and get married for all the right reasons, it should work with these thoughts in mind. #1 most important – Unselfishness. Selfish people can’t have these things. They are one of the “100/0” kind. Not exactly quality marriage material. They can have all the money and things as far as I’m concerned. I have the most valuable thing in the world….A great marriage.

 

 

“The keys on your keyboard are the controls to your bulldozer. Take the keys and drive until you are finished. Everything else will kindly move out of your way or be forced to become a part of your path to success.”

Tammy Holloway

 

“Dozer”

 

Have a sci-fi day everyone! TLH

Comments

By all means...write:

