I took this picture the other day because I thought this was the most beautiful rose. I cropped the picture and enhanced it some. This picture is rightfully mine…or is it? As far as I’m concerned, share it. I am no photographer and I use other people’s pictures all the time for one reason or another. I don’t make money off other people’s work and I don’t think anyone is going to make money off of mine.

As for our writing, has anyone had their work “borrowed”? I’ve talked to many authors and researched sites with information about copyright laws and found that it is rare to have someone actually take your work for themselves and claim they wrote it. If you still feel uncomfortable about sharing what you have, send it to yourself certified mail. Do not open it and keep it in case something were to happen. That is the old-fashioned way of keeping your material protected. I recently mailed my novel to myself since I am over halfway done. I have been sending it out to different people for editing, coaching, etc. It doesn’t hurt to spent a few bucks to ease your mind. As for the pictures I take, if I felt a need to become some big photographer I would have my name plastered across the photos so they would be useless for the purpose of making money on it.

 If we couldn’t share other people’s material, we wouldn’t be able to enjoy pictures like this:

and this….

These are the highlights of my mornings as I scroll through my Facebook. Someone else’s photos made my day and I hope my photos do the same:-)

 

“The keys on your keyboard are the controls to your bulldozer. Take the keys and drive until you are finished. Everything else will kindly move out of your way or be forced to become a part of your path to success.” Tammy Holloway

 

“Dozer” 

Have a sci-fi day everyone! TLH

 

By all means...write:

