Don’t get me wrong, I love to write, but my education is top priority. If I thought I could write for a living I wouldn’t. (Gotcha!) I enjoy writing and had enough years in college where I “had” to write on a specific topic. Writing is a hobby for me. However, I do take writing seriously and continue to improve on my skills in order to get my novel the way I want it before it becomes available to the public.

Many writers have different lives. What’s yours? One of mine is garage door installation and repair of all things. Well, I help my husband once in a while anyway and we enjoy the extra time together. He does the hard work. I just hand him tools now and then. Another path I am taking is Accounting. I have always enjoyed Math (not that it makes me any better at it lol). I love crunching numbers and that is how I came to the decision of becoming an Accountant. The money wasn’t my choice. I tried that when I first started college (a loooong time ago)…HA! Hey, I didn’t give up;-) So here I am, sitting on a Bachelor’s Degree, headed for a Master’s in Accounting.

To tell you the truth, I never imagined the path I am on. When I was in high school, I wanted to be a Marine Biologist working with whales and dolphins…..go figure. I did get to do an internship with Sea World (Camp counselor for K-12) so that was my adventure into that field. lol! My job was to take the kids to the shows around the park (while singing SpongeBob Squarepants and other chants on our way…LOUD I might add and people DID get out of our way. Who wouldn’t?). It was fun and I did get to see Shamu on a daily basis. The free pass to Discovery Cove was unforgettable for an animal lover like myself. Here is a picture of me kissing a dolphin:

So whoever you are and whatever your dream I say go for it. We get one chance at life. I choose to fit in any and everything I can if it is my desire. I feel complete, even though I ended up someplace totally different from where I assumed I would be. I’m not saying I had it easy. Lord knows I did not; but through it all I am happy with where I am today. Just like my statement for writing:

“The keys on your keyboard are the controls to your bulldozer. Take the keys and drive until you are finished. Everything else will kindly move out of your way or be forced to become a part of your path to success.” 

“Dozer”

(Dozer was also the name of one of the Walrus’ at Sea World.)

I always used the bulldozer as my metaphor to get through hard times. It can go through almost anything. The negativity gets run over and the positive feedback rides in the cab with me;-) 

Have a sci-fi day everyone! TLH

Comments
  1. Thanks Tammy! Good one today.

By all means...write:

