The Staircase – A Science Fiction Short Story by Tammy Holloway

Posted: September 12, 2011 in Writing

The Staircase – A Short Story by Tammy Holloway

The staircase was long. I stood underneath it and peered through the middle. I had to catch myself because my head started to spin. “This was the house of a famous person.” Clyde muttered. He was always muttering some babble about who he knows and how much money he has or some other form of lie. Whoever’s house this was, it was magnificent. We lived down the road a mile or so and always wondered why this house was always empty. Clyde was the one that said he saw people here. He claimed they had a limo and some really expensive cars. Either his lies are getting more elaborate or he’s telling the truth on that one. Oh well, curiosity got the best of me anyway so we decided to go take a tour of the place. Clyde found the key under the mat and let himself in. We weren’t thieves or anything, but we could be found snooping where we shouldn’t be. “Let’s go upstairs Clyde! I want to walk up this incredible staircase like famous people would.”

We lived in the mountains. The rich were county workers that had steady jobs or teachers and doctors. There was no Hollywood in this place. Just the thought of someone rich and famous in these parts gets up the curiosity of everyone here, young and old. I took my first step onto the stairs. It was slippery with all the dust covering the slick shine of lacquer coating. They were a light color of wood with a dull, black, thin railing flowing with each step all the way to the top. I closed my eyes for a moment and pictured myself in a beautiful gown, elegantly tapping each step lightly with my shimmering heels. The sound of clicks echoed through the vaulted ceilings as I ascended. The climb was endless but I was too busy thinking about being glamorous. I just kept climbing.

“Amanda! Where’d you run off to?” Clyde ran up the staircase as fast as he could. “Amanda! We need to get out of here before someone finds us snooping around.” He searched all around the top floor of this big place but it was no use. I could hear him calling but my voice could not call out to him. I knew there was something unnatural going on but couldn’t figure out exactly what it was just yet. Clyde was on the floor I intended to be on as well but for some reason, the staircase kept going.

I looked down at my aching feet only to find them covered in blood. The soles on my shoes were worn all the way down. I collapsed and began to fall down the stairs. Flashes of memories raced through my brain thinking I was going to be dead by the time I get to the bottom of this massive staircase. My body slammed into a wall and all at once, I was still.

Oddly enough, I was okay. I remember everything. I stood up and brushed off the dust that clung to my clothes as I rolled down each and every dusty step. As I headed for the door, I realized that my feet were no longer bleeding. My shoes looked the same as they did before I ascended the staircase.  “Well, what are you waiting for?” A voice spoke as I headed for the door. It was Clyde. “I thought you said you wanted to go upstairs?”

Now I was certain there was something strange going on. “Did I go through some sort of portal?” This was just too weird. Before I thought about mentioning anything to Clyde, I figured it was best we got out of this place. I headed straight toward the door and in all the commotion neither of us realized someone pulled up in the driveway. The glimmer of sunlight glistened through the massive windows that covered the front of the house, making it difficult to see someone pull up. The privacy deemed it unnecessary to have any kind of curtains so most of these places were wide open. I never understood it because it gets pretty hot in the summertime. Lucky for us, they were standing in the driveway looking out at the landscape. It was a very beautiful place. Hardwood trees scaled down the mountainside. Wild vines covered the ground with bright green leaves. Some of the old, dead trees looked alive as the vines took hold of them. 

There was an older gentleman dressed in a mauve colored suit. That is not someone from around here. He was talking to a man and woman. The couple was casually dressed in blue jeans and a nice shirt. Their shoes were some fancy brand name that I wouldn’t be caught dead in. Heck if I had shoes like that I would be afraid to wear them anyway. They had money but didn’t show it. They must be selling this old place.

We slowly walked to the back of the house to find an exit. The kitchen was untouched. Pot and pans were still in the boxes sitting on the counter. It was as if no meal had ever been prepared in it. The small was that of old paint and sawdust. The stove still had plastic around the handle and across the dials from when it was delivered. This was just too creepy.

“Clyde! Over here! I found the door!” We rushed out the back door and headed for the woods. We had to wait it out since the forest was just too dense to get out. I figured Clyde should know what happened. “Are you feeling alright Amanda? It’s not like you to tell stories. That’s my department.” Clyde never admitted he was a storyteller before. I guess I threw him for a loop on this one. He ignored what I said and made a joke about heading up the stairs himself. “You do what you want Clyde. You know I don’t make stuff up. I’m getting out of here as fast as I can.” We slowly worked our way around the side of the house and saw the nicely dressed man walking back to his car. His pace was quick and he did not look back as he entered his car and drove off.

“I told you I was telling the truth Clyde!” “Well maybe they own this place and he just dropped them off or something.” Clyde wasn’t falling for my story. I gritted my teeth and pursed my lips; “Ooo you make me so mad sometimes! We’re going back in there. You will see Clyde, you will see.”  I made my way back to the front door. “Amanda! Wait! You are going to get us in trouble.” Clyde followed behind anyway.

The front door was locked back. Clyde grabbed the key from under the mat. “Are you sure about this Amanda?” “Yes Clyde, now give me the key.” The huge wood stained door creaked as I slowly pushed in on it. “Hello? Is anyone here?” No answer. Clyde stood behind me near the door. I guess he planned on running if the situation called for it. “What in the world is going on here Amanda?” “See I told you. There’s something strange about those stairs.” By this point, Clyde was no longer listening to me. He was standing by the staircase, staring into space. “Clyde? Clyde!” “Oh I’m sorry Amanda, this all seems like a very bad dream and I don’t like the feelings I am getting in this house. Can we get out of here now?”

The creaking sound of the door startled us as the wind began to blow. I felt a chill as the breeze wisped past me. I heard a faint voice. “Amnescebedorin. Lou de flanshendes . Endesta. Endesta!” “Clyde? Did you hear that?” It was clear he hadn’t heard a thing. “Hear what?” I decided to ignore Clyde’s question since there was no point in trying to explain again. “Never mind. Let’s go. We can report this to the police so they can figure out what happened here. I no longer want any part of it.” As I headed for the door, I felt a pain in my left eye. It hurt enough to make me stop for a moment and rub it. I stepped forward…more pain. I pressed against my eye and knelt down. My face was distorted from expressions of pain. “Amanda!” Clyde grabbed me to keep me from falling. “He used his tattered shirt to wipe the tears from my eyes. When I opened them again, all I could see was red. “Amnescebedorin. Lou de flanshendes . Endesta. Endesta!” This time I knew what it was saying. I couldn’t understand why but I knew. Amnescebedorin. Bring you sacrifice. Deliver. Deliver.

A familiar sound filled my ears and I realized it was just the sound of numbers being punched on a keypad. “No Clyde.” I grabbed the phone from his hands. “You need to get to the hospital Amanda. Give me the phone.” I tried to collect my thoughts. “Just…give me a minute to rest.” My head slumped over Clyde’s shoulder as he carried me to the couch. The room started to come back into view as the blood was washed from my eyes. Tears streamed down my cheek as I faced a harsh reality; the man in the expensive suit, the expensive car realtors around here couldn’t afford, the rich couple, the experience I had up the stairs. It started to make sense, and I wished it didn’t.

“The staircase”…I mumbled, trying to hold back my emotions. Clyde picked me up and headed straight for them. “I sure hope you’re right Amanda, but it’s worth a try if it will help you any. I always liked ya you know.” It seemed Clyde also understood what needed to be done but didn’t hesitate in saving my life. Now the tears were flowing uncontrollably. “No, just stop now!” I can’t Clyde, I can’t.” Clyde ignored my words and ascended the staircase.

The walk seemed to take forever. It was a much longer trip but it was probably because the feelings were much different now. Leading Clyde into a sure death was something I was going to have to live with for the rest of my life and I will never be the same. The alternative was even worse and Clyde must have known that as well. I will burn this old place down when I get out. I will burn it so other people do not fall into the same fate as I have.

The wind began to whip and whirl. The staircase was alive with hunger. The rails became spears that engulfed us. Clyde was slipping as the stairs turned downward. “It will be alright Amanda!” He screamed as he slipped into the gaping hole underneath us. Thump! My body fell and began to roll down the stairs once again. 

I slowly stood up, brushed the dust off my clothes and walked to the door. All of the pain was gone and my eyes were no longer full of blood; only tears. I walked down the long driveway dragging my feet, sobbing. My cell phone rang. Without hesitation I answered it. “Hey Amanda, its Clyde. You wanna go check out that huge house down the street with me?”

 

“The keys on your keyboard are the controls to your bulldozer. Take the keys and drive until you are finished. Everything else will kindly move out of your way or be forced to become a part of your path to success.” Tammy Holloway

 

Have a sci-fi day everyone! TLH

Comments
  1. marta says:

    I like it thanks for finish it.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Omg that was creepy which means GOOD!

  3. Suzy says:

    that was me that was anonymous sorry I just figured the comment thing out!

    • lol! You’re so cute Suzy;-) …and thanks for the input. I am trying to get better at all this writing stuff for that “AMAZING” novel The Deep Freeze. I want my first novel to be sci-fi-licious! (OOooo I like that!) I have another story written but I sent it off for a competition. I will post it at a later date.

By all means...write:

