It’s All “Write” to Procrastinate

Posted: September 1, 2011 in science fiction, short stories, Writing
Tags: , , , , , ,

Sound familiar? Hey, I do it too ya know. I think there are more of us than those who do not. My husband pointed out that, as leaders, we work better under pressure. Procrastinating just prepares us for those high-end jobs where executive decisions have to be made and fast. It is the future. Let’s band together and encourage each other to keep writing no matter what label people give us. Heck, I am a straight “A” accounting student and my husband is a straight “A” computer programming student in grad school and we procrastinate all the time. Last minute homework, last-minute projects, last-minute term papers, etc. Some of us just work better that way. I have been this way as long as I can remember….and that’s a loooong time:-p lol!

So what do we do to keep writing then? Self challenges! Get out the ol’ calendar and use excel or get a white board or something. Set up timeframes for short goals of completion dates. Read other wonderful blogs of upcoming writers and words of encouragement. Get fired up! Now……wait until that last day you have written down for completion (because that’s what we do best) and write, write, write! The words will flow, you can spend the rest of the days relaxing and doing what you enjoy and most important…STOP STRESSING! It has taken me years and a wonderful husband to open my eyes and stop stressing over what needs to be done. Regardless of how much I “think” about it, that isn’t going to get it done. Once it gets down to the wire, my brain switch turns on and wha la! I start and complete the assignment just by the skin of my teeth….and yes, I get all A’s.

It seems the same for my writing. Short stories are no problem. I had a deadline coming up for a writing contest so I sat down, wrote, wrote and wrote some more. 2 hours later and over 2,000 words, I completed it. My husband read it over and only found a couple grammatical errors and it was ready for submission. My point is, don’t be discouraged when people say “Stop procrastinating” or “You’ll never get anything done because you procrastinate”……and so on. The world is full of people trying to drag you down. Shut them out and push forward my friends! Those same people read what you write and YOU reap the rewards;-) In their “FACE”!

Have a sci-fi day everyone! TLH

“The keys on your keyboard are the controls to your bulldozer. Take the keys and drive until you are finished. Everything else will kindly move out of your way or be forced to become a part of your path to success.” Tammy Holloway
By all means...write:

